‘Ashes to Ashes’ in Bunhill

Great action day in Bunhill yesterday.

Yes, we had a record number of activists out – so many we had to go into the HQ in shifts. We delivered most of the ward and did so much canvassing we ran out of survey forms. We found lots of new supporters. I visited some of the local London in Bloom winners. But forget all that, the real excitement came when we found ourselves on the edge of a filmset.

Whitecross Street was our base for the day (leaflet distribution from Ruth’s flat, lunch at the Market Cafe, surveying on surrounding estates) but not just ours. South of Banner Street the road was closed off except for some rather elderly cars – and a red Quattro. IMG_1431

The timeless honey-coloured brick of the Peabody buildings, and some suitably re-dressed shop fronts, were the backdrop for an episode of ‘Ashes to Ashes’. It was fascinating to see two lots of police side by side – real ones keeping the street closed, period ones as part of the filming. We even got to see Philip Glenister in character as Gene Hunt.
Ashes

We were also lucky to have Soraya, one of City Uni’s journalism students with us for the day; she was covering the campaign and looking for local stories. I think we delivered!

So look out for our corner of London when the next series of Ashes is broadcast. I’ve not seen all the episodes of Life on Mars and Ashes to Ashes but I did enjoy the ones I saw very much. Some bits of period detail brought back memories, others really did seem from another planet. I even used the Mars theme in my Grauniad blog.

In Life on Mars, Hunt said “There will never be a woman prime minister as long as I have a hole in my arse.” I doubt he’d ever vote Lib Dem. But I’m sure his canvassing style would have been memorable.

2 Comments »

  1. I’m very jealous that you got to see Gene Hunt! I wouldn’t have been able to come over to help though yesterday anyway as I was out leafletting for a council by-election over here in Bracknell.

  2. bridgetfox said

    Hi Mark

    You are welcome anytime, although we can’t always promise A list TV shows…..🙂

    Polls looking good!

    Bridget

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

