No cuisine from this marine

This story made me smile.

Dutch footballer Michel Kuipers has long been reported to be a former army cook. But now Kuipers has revealed it was a joke by a former team-mate. In fact he was in the Dutch equivalent of the SAS.

Kuipers, who had to sign the Dutch official secrets act, said: “When I started at Brighton people asked me what I did in the marines all the time.

“I cannot really talk about all I did because it is still very confidential, so he made up this story that I was a chef.

“Unfortunately everyone believed it and I still get fans asking me about how to cook meals.”

The Dutchman claims he cannot even boil an egg let alone cook for hundreds of ravenous soldiers.

Leave a Reply

