British Gas: don’t call us….

I’m working from home most of the time these days, and so my office number is diverted here too. My extension is diverted to my mobile, but colleagues often call on my landline too. So if the phone goes, I rush downstairs to answer it.

A couple of weeks ago, mid-afternoon, I had a call. I always answer with my name – “Good afternoon, Bridget Fox speaking” – so was mildly irritated when the first question was, “May I speak to Ms Fox?” Anyway, it turned out to be British Gas. Did I have Homecare? Yes. Was I happy with it? Yes. Did I want some upgrade or other? Not now, thank you. End of call. So far, so good. Back to work….

The next day, mid-afternoon, the phone goes, I answer, British Gas again, about my Homecare. I assure them that my requirements for Homecare have not changed in the last 24 hours. Back to work.

Day 3, the phone goes. It’s British Gas, asking for the man who lived here before me. I explain he’s not lived here for years. “It’s about his British Gas Homecare”. Of course it is. “Is that… [some address in Essex]?” No, I explain, this is Morton Road in Islington. You’ve got the right address for Mr T but the wrong number. Chap from British Gas apologises, they will update their records. By the way, would I like British Gas Homecare? Grrr. Back to work.

Day 4, the phone goes, I answer it, give my name – and the caller hangs up. I do a 1471, and then ringback: it might be important. “You were called today on a non-urgent matter by British Gas….”

Day 5 and each day since, the same. The phone rings, I answer, they hang up, I check, it’s British Gas.

Did you know that the letters in ‘British Gas’ can be rearranged into short but expressive words for use on such occasions?

There is a number to call to stop this nonsense. It’s 0845 0700828.
The bad news is it may take up to 28 days before the calls stop….

4 Comments »

  1. […] been critical of British Gas in the past – for everything from their phone technique to their outrageous profits. So it’s only fair to point out when they get something […]

    • Freda Gunston said

      I Have several buy to lets and have my services with British Gas and homecare agreements with them. they have been promising a refund on one property of £164 now for nearly 3 months (due to the fact that they did not service the property last year and are refunding my premium) every time I speak to them they tell me “money is in post” “cheque being raised” in fact they lie each time and give me their names and extension numbers. I cannot believe this Company of paid liars. I am furious with their service and their continued inefficiency.

  2. […] But it does mean that I get plagued by sales calls, some of which are worse than others. […]

  3. Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I
    was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice practices and we are looking to trade strategies with other
    folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

