City Uni does Barnsbury

I took a bit of time out this evening to pop into City University and meet with some of the student journalists there. City teaches one of the top courses and their students are an intelligent and motivated group. Each of them has an Islington ward to research and report – and my pair are covering Barnsbury, where I was a councillor for 8 years. We covered everything from crime, parks and planning to housing policy, regeneration, refugees – and the best pubs.

One question which got me thinking was what my priorities for the ward would be if I was a councillor there now. One would be dealing with issues of youth and crime, ensuring young people are safe and older people less fearful. I’d be listening to residents to get the balance right on over-development and providing the homes local people need; housing targets don’t justify bad buildings. And we face more ‘modernisation’ programmes for services like the Post Office and GP surgeries.

All in all it was an enjoyable interview, so I guess I should thank Barnsbury’s current Labour councillors for having completely ignored the students’ requests…..

Leave a Reply

