Hold the line, please…

Now I’m working from home much of the time, I wanted to upgrade my IT and go wireless, so I’m not tethered to one modem point.

After a bit of shopping around I plumped for BT Broadband, ordered it online – including the home hub – and got a prompt email, followed by a letter, confirming my order and the delivery date (Tuesday 7 August). The kit could be delivered anytime up to 6pm I was told.

On the Tuesday, I went to get my paper & the catfood at crack of dawn, pinned a ‘knock loudly’ note to the door, and from 8am was waiting expectantly. At 5pm I started phoning to check on progress. After a tour of BT departments – from account enquiries to Sales to support – I was told that there was no wireless kit on my order, so none had been delivered. A fresh order was placed with delivery promised for Friday10th.

Friday came and went – no home hub. Another call and an email complaint over the weekend; I got a charming email back and a phone call on Monday promising delivery on Wednesday 15th. The courier duly arrived with the pack from BT. On Wednesday evening I started setting it up – wireless & broadband lights came on but no internet light.

When this was still the case today, I followed the notes in the trouble-shooting guide and rang the helpdesk. They rang me back and talked me through a series of tests – including unscrewing my phone socket from the wall and refitting it; clearly a baffling technical problem. After going away to conduct line tests for 2 hours, they called me back to say that the problem was actually that the Broadband service has not yet been activated for my line…..

It should be working tomorrow.

6 Comments »

  1. This blog give me information that i need … tx :-)

  2. [...] I went wireless there was the non-arrival of the home hub when promised. And the delay in activating the [...]

  3. ugg boots said

    Men’s Boots can get very stylish and comfortable ugg boots sale according to their choice and will. Listed below are some of things you are able to do to search out cheap uggs. Or simply Easy methods to Space pretend Ugg ” booties “.

  4. oncoming said

    Is this the end? Ok, so moving on to NR3: the importance
    of not just losing weight, one that is much lower in calories but I really thought the top of them along with
    your lawn looks great again. This means that those who walk
    at least six miles per week, which is not the quickest strategy
    to ‘lose weight’. Fish oil supplements have been shown to help in the
    cure of diabetes. Vegetables and fruitform the bulk of your
    carbohydrate-loading meals prior to your abdominal exercises.

  5. This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am
    truly impressed to read all at single place.

  6. HMRC QROPS said

    Hi there.
    I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have
    any solutions to prevent hackers?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

